There are extensive WEEKDAY / DAYTIME ( closures 08:00 – 17:00) roadworks in Autumn 2022 on the A592 which goes past the hut.
The roadworks are starting south of Patterdale and then progress northwards over the rest of the year
As far as the hut is concerned, the works are in 3 general sections:
1. Roadworks to the South of the hut (towards Kirkstone Pass)
2. Roadworks “Outside” the hut 
3. Roadworks to the North of the hut (towards Ullswater, Glenridding & Penrith)
During the following WEEKDAYS there will be DAY TIME closures between 08:00 and 17:00 as follows:
1. Road closure to the SOUTH of the hut (towards Kirkstone Pass)

Mon 19th Sep to Fri 23rd Sep – south of the hut between Patterdale Youth Hostel and southwards for the next mile
Sat   24th Sep to Sun 25th Sep                 – road passable
Mon 26th Sep to Fri 30th Sep   – south of the hut between Patterdale Youth Hostel and southwards for the next mile
Sat    1st Oct to Sun 2nd Oct                      – road passable
2. Road closures “Outside” the Hut
Mon 3rd Oct to Fri 7th Oct    – “outside” the hut – between the White Lion and Patterdale Fire Station
Sat    8th Oct to Sun 9th Oct                      – road passable
Mon 10th Oct to Fri 14th Oct – “outside” the hut – between the White Lion and Patterdale Fire Station
Sat   15th Oct to Sun 16th Oct                    – road passable
3. Road closures to the  NORTH of the hut (towards Glenridding and Aira Force)
Mon 17th Oct to Thu 20th Oct –  Patterdale Fire Station to Glenridding 
Fri   21st Oct to Mon 7th Nov                  – road passable (half term!)
Mon 7th Nov to Fri 11th Nov     – Glenridding
Sat 12th Nov to Sun 13th Nov                     – road passable
Mon 14th Nov to Fri 18th Nov   – “Seldom Seen” – north of Glenridding
Sat 19th Nov to Sun 20th Nov                     – road passable
Mon 21st Nov to end of 2022     – sections of the Road between Aira and Penrith (so access now from the north A5091 from Troutbeck )
So if you were wanting to get access past one of these sections during one of these periods and between 08:00 and 17:00, you may have to park one side of the works and then walk 
Of course, the council reserves the right to change these dates so you must go to  the Cumbria Road works  website to get “up to date” information
Enter “patterdale” in the “location” box and then click “Show on Map”
It defaults to showing roadworks “Today”..
Click on the drop down arrow to show “next two weeks” etc